Day 5 ~ one thing and then another

Day 5 ~ December 5th, 2016

It was a productive day for me until dinner time.

I got a lot done around the house, all my workouts, school with my son, and stayed on top of his body breaks. I was on a roll and then we hit a brick wall at supper.

He refused to use his words, and this is something he typically does exceptionally well with me, to step outside for what I assumed was a “speck”. So, I need to explain what that is real quick.

My son loves Horton from Horton Hears a Who and for about the last 3-4 weeks he has taken to carrying around his own speck and re-enacting favourite scenes from the movie. His “speck” is a small bead, preferably green, tied on a blade of grass. When he’s trying to leave the house randomly this is usually why, he needs a new blade of grass. Now I don’t mind him going outside, but I want him to interact with someone about it so someone knows where he is at as he is a flight risk.


So, anyway this one situation snowballed into several others and there was just no stopping it. It went from this issue, to then not wanting to eat supper because he didn’t have a new speck, then he lost his green bead and I have none left, and then it finally came out that he wasn’t feeling good.
One of the biggest challenges of having a kiddo with ASD that is non-verbal is playing a lot of trial and error and honestly just not understanding what could be wrong sometimes. Thankfully it didn’t take very long to get our wires uncrossed and we carried on with the evening.

I hope that my kiddo is feeling at least a little better tomorrow. I hate it when he is sick 😦

Cheers ~ ✌

Share a comment or thoughts ~

