#78 ~ Run a Half Marathon ~ DONE!

Alright so this happened on Sunday (September 4th)! I ran the Kelowna Wine Country Half Marathon and it was the longest distance in either official race, or just a personal run, that I have ever done. I thought the race photos might be out a little sooner, but it’ll be a few more days so I’ll post them when I have them 😀

Race start time was at 7AM and I was up just before 5AM to start a small warm-up before I even left the house and get a pre-workout into me too. It’s quite cold in the mornings already here, which is a little abnormal actually. I was very thankful that I coordinated what I was wearing perfectly for this run despite being so sleepy. And I was beyond thankful that it didn’t actually end up raining like the forecast said it was because that would have really sucked!

Walking to the Start Line @ The Vibrant Vine

Walking to the Start Line @ The Vibrant Vine

A sleepy Val waiting to start running!

A sleepy Val waiting to start running!


I surprised myself by running the entirety of it. When I say that it means I didn’t stop, or take walk breaks, once from start to finish. I was so worried if I fully stopped moving, or even got too slow, that I would lose my momentum and not be able to finish it.
The longest distance I got to before the race was just under 16K, so the last handful of km on the course weren’t awesome. By 19K I was definitely ready to be finished and wished I could stop, but I knew I couldn’t and I was so close!! I actually finished the race almost 30 minutes faster than I thought I would too!! *happy dancing*

About 10 minutes after crossing the finish line. Walking is getting harder by the second!

About 10 minutes after crossing the finish line. Walking is getting harder by the second!

My Bib and Medal.

My Bib and Medal

I’ve been asked a few times already if I will ever do another one, or a longer race, and I am not sure. I think if someone were to ask me to join them on another half-marathon, or even a longer run, I will probably say ‘yes!’ 😛 But, if it’s just myself doing the race(s) then likely not again as the training involved is time-consuming. Thankfully recovery hasn’t been as bad as I thought it would be, but still not the most fun either. It’s the quads and ankes that are killing me today!

I think I’ll stick with 10km trail races in the future, but I’ll leave my options open just in case!

— —

Some race numbers:

Race Distance: 21.2 km
Total Race Time: 2hr 2min 10sec
Div. Pl.: 24 out of 83
Gender Pl. 152 out of 583
12.5K Split: 1hr 10min 31sec
Pace/KM 5min 48esc
Overall Finish: 270 out of 793

One thought on “#78 ~ Run a Half Marathon ~ DONE!

  1. Pingback: **Kelowna Wine Country Half-Marathon ~ Photos! | Happiness To Be Had

Share a comment or thoughts ~

