30-Day Book Challenge ~ Day 18 & Day 19

Day 18 ~ A book that disappointed you

The Witcher Series by Andrzej Sapkowski

This is kind of backwards in that the video games are based of this book series and not a book series being based off a video game. So, seeing how cool the games look (I have yet to be able to play any 😦 ) I thought that the books would be awesome!
Perhaps the quality of the story loses something with the translation from Polish-to-English, but I didn’t like the first two books in the series.
Each book was 6 chapters long, which means the chapters were ridiculously long, as the books are normal sized adult fantasy novels.

I expected a combination of assassin-ness and really bada$$ fight scenes and there wasn’t really either of those things! There was a lot of characters to remember, plenty of kingdom politics/intrigue, and huge time jumps in both books. Sometimes there was years between the beginning and end of a chapter, which was hard to keep track off and where characters were in the moment.


Day 19 ~ Favourite book turned into a movie

I don’t think I have favourite book turned movie….
Taking a book and applying it to a script is no easy feat and generally it’s awful or simply acceptable.

Memoirs of a Geisha was alright and the Dune movies and mini series did a decent job for the most part too.

Something Borrowed is another that sticks out in my mind. Or course, it’s not a perfect match to the book, but I liked how they did it overall.

I’ve been told that Shutter Island was really well done and I didn’t realize the book was turned into a movie until months after I reading it. I haven’t seen yet though.

I’m sure there are more but I just can’t think of any others at the moment.

Share a comment or thoughts ~

