Music Review ~ “방탄소년단 (BTS)”

Artist: 반틴소년단 (BTS/Bangtan Sonyeondan/Bulletproof Boys)
Albums: 2 Cool 4 Skool (2013), O!RUL8,2? (2013), Skool Luv Affair & Skool Luv Affair Special Addition (2014), Dark & Wild (2014), 화양연화 pt.1 [The Most Beautiful Moment in Life, Pt.1] (2015) **[I have only included the Korean releases, not the Japanese here]
Genre: Korean ~ Hip Hop, KPop, R&B
Years Active: Debut 2013 – Present
Members: Jin (Kim Seok-Jin; 김석진), Suga (Min Yoon-Gi; 민윤기), J-Hope (Jung Ho-Seok; 정호석), Rap Monster (Kim Nam-Joon; 김남준), Jimin (Park Ji-Min; 박지민), V (Kim Tae-Hyung; 김태형), and Jungkook (Jeon Jungkook; 전정국)
Label: Big Hit Entertainment
Rating Out of Five: 5

I never considered myself a hip hop/rap fan until this past summer. Before then if you had asked me what kind of music I liked I would have assuredly told you ‘anything but rap or music with harmonica sounds‘.

Now, that answer is no longer correct. I’ve found that it has quickly become my favourite genre of music to do any running or working out to or just dancing around the house like an idiot 😛 That is something I do often!

This Korean group, Bangtan Boys, is definitely been a big part of my change in opinion in regards to this type of music. It started with boxing training and this song below:

Spine Breaker (등골브레이커)

I was part of the way through a Plyometrics set when it came on, on my iPod and it was on repeat for the rest of my workout I loved it so much.


Since then BTS songs have made it on to basically every device I own and/or playlist that I’ve currently put together.

I really enjoy the way the songs are arranged, the mixture of rapping and vocals is very appealing to me. The vocal line has such a diverse range between them all and on the rapper line they each have a distinctive style as well.
And all the songs whether fast or slow, all have great beats and get stuck in my head so easily!

I love how involved they are in creating their own music, in both writing lyrics and producing. I think that makes music more meaningful, and relate-able, when it comes directly from the artist and not the corporate giant backing them. I imagine that it must feel absolutely amazing to hear how so many people are enjoying the music you’ve made too.

I talk about lyrics ever time I do one of these reviews as that is such a huge part of my decision in deciding if I enjoy listening to a band/artist and how I will rate them.
First I will say, my knowledge of the Korean language is very limited (I am only a beginner!). So, what I have come to learn/understand of my favourite songs from BTS is that they are certainly hitting this specific criteria for me.

Some of my fave songs below. It is super, super tough to just pick a handful to put in this post. They have SOOOOO many fantastic songs!!!

Tomorrow ~ this song and Spine Breaker are probably my top two faves at the moment.

CYPHER Pt.3: Killer (Ft. Supreme Boi) ~ on my boxing playlist

Let Me Know ~ just beautiful

War of Hormone (호르몬전쟁) ~ this is a fun song *smirk*

Dope (쩔어) ~ if this song doesn’t make you want to dance around then your ear nubs are broken!

BTS has there comeback the 30th of this month and I am very excited for it! I can’t wait to hear their new music!!!!
화양연화 pt. 2 *happy dance*

One thought on “Music Review ~ “방탄소년단 (BTS)”

  1. Pingback: 방탄소년단 (BTS) 30-Day Challenge ~ Day 1 | Happiness To Be Had

Share a comment or thoughts ~

