*Genes & Autism

Just a quick post as I am working on, or supposed to be working on I should say, an essay for Biology.  In some of my research I came across this article (based on a U.S. study) and I found it extremely interesting, and helpful with my assignment to a degree.

The article talks about some new studies that are out that show up to 1,000 genes that may attribute to Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD). I, personally, find this fascinating and I am curious how this could affect the apparently growing number of individuals who are diagnosed with ASD. Being able to look at someones DNA and see how exactly you could help them, via gene therapy or a specific treatment is amazing!!

The article is here: Discovery of 100-Plus Genes Tied to Autism May Improve Treatments

I will definitely be keeping an eye on this in the future now that I know about it!

Share a comment or thoughts ~

