Music Review ~ “PVRIS”

Artist: PVRIS
Albums: White Noise (2014)
Genre: Post-Hardcore, Alternative/Electronic Rock
Years Active: 2012 – Present
Rating Out of Five: 3

Record Label: Rise/Velocity Records

For Fans of…. Tonight Alive, Paramore, Palisades

I think I came across PVRIS while I was surfing YouTube one day and it popped up in my sidebar recommendations. They caught my attention right away as they sound a lot like Paramore. So, right off the bat, if you don’t like that band then you won’t like this one.

Because they have a sound that is so close to that of the band Paramore, there isn’t much that sets them apart yet. The overall sound and the lead vocalist have very similar vocals and range, so I am interested to see how their sound progresses or changes as they release new music. The thing I am enjoying the most about PVRIS is some of their lyrics and how some of their songs are put together, it’s a little different from the norm and that is what appeals to me most when listening to music. I feel like there is definitely a ton of potential for them!!


I like the simplicity of their songs, they are very easy to learn and put your spin on them when you play them yourself. That is something I think is fun, especially for me because there are days that I like to just dick around on the piano or bass guitar and just feel out a song.

Some songs you can’t really deviate from how it’s played for it to sound good (or amazing in some cases) and that is totally fine, but having some moments of “less-focused” music is sometimes just what I need. When I say this, I don’t mean that the music has substance or that the musicians aren’t talented, they are signed to a label clearly so they have the talent to be where they are. For example, when I decide I want to play some Red Hot Chili Peppers I am very focused because Flea is a beast (one of my favourite bassists ever!) so I am paying more attention to getting it right than just relaxing into the music, figuring out my own stuff. This situation is the case when I am playing around with a PVRIS song. Simple is sometimes what is exactly perfect!

Hahaha hopefully that makes some sort of sense!! It does in my head anyway 😀

I hope this band is really able to carve out their own niche in the music business. I would love to see what they can do in the future!!

White Noise

Mirrors ~ my favourite song!!

Share a comment or thoughts ~

