Book Review ~ “Hounded”

Title: Hounded
Author: Kevin Hearne
Genre: Fantasy (Urban)
Rating Out of Five: 5

Atticus O’Sullivan is the last of the Druids and for the last decade he has lived peacefully in Arizona running an occult bookshop and shape-shifting with his Irish wolfhound, Oberon. While he appears to be in his early twenties he is actually over 2,000 years old, he can draw power from the Earth, and has in his possession a magical sword known as Fragarach, the Answerer. Now the sword is the reason that Aenghus Og, an angry Celtic God, has been hounding Atticus for centuries and up until recently he has been able to stay hidden. But now Aenghus has tracked him down and, of course, he wants nothing but power and destruction over all mankind.  So Atticus, with the help of his vampire & werewolf attorneys, a bartender possessed by a Hindu witch, and the help of a goddess of death, he is gonna kick some Celtic arse!

I went back and forth on this series for a very long time before I finally decided to just pick it up and read it. It sounded so intriguing and, yet, I was so hesitant because fantasy is such a hard series for me to read most of the time. But I loved this book! I laughed so much throughout the whole thing!

Atticus is a sarcastic, witty, Irishman who uses pop culture and nerdy references in all kinds of perfection for me!! My favourite kind of person *smirk* Plus, he has the BEST.SIDEKICK.EVER!!! Oberon, his Irish wolfhound (who he has taught to talk with him), is a great contributor to all the goofy remarks and so often the instigator. he can hold his own against Atticus in an argument and loves history stories at bath-time. Oh, and he absolutely LOVES french poodles and is always asking Atticus if he can have a harem of them hahahaha

There is so much stuff jam-packed into this book that I think that anyone could read this and enjoy it. Its got the Fae (faeries, deities), vampires & werewolves (his lawyers!), witches (good and bad) and tons of fighting scenes!!!

I feel like the author (Kevin Hearne) really did his homework on all the folklore & mythology. I am certainly no expert (by any means!) but with what little I do know it lined up with what I do know.

I am extremely impressed with this book and the rest of the series doesn’t disappoint either! I’ve finished the series or, at least, up to what has been released. I thought I had read somewhere that he was putting another out around Feb. 2014 but I am not a hundred percent sure. I shall try to be prompt about getting the next reviews up for this series, I promise!

Share a comment or thoughts ~

