Book Review ~ “The Silence of the Lambs”

Title: The Silence of the Lambs
Author: Thomas Harris
Genre: Fiction
Rating Out of Five: 3

Another serial killer is on the loose, going by the name Buffalo Bill, who is accumulating girls parts to make a body suit for himself. Enter Jack Crawford and the recruited FBI student, Clarice Starling, with some help from Hannibal Lecter.

I feel like this story is better as a movie than a book….and I haven’t even seen the movie yet. I just couldn’t get into it at all, I actually found it kind of boring.  I wanted to enjoy it, especially as they made a movie out of it, but I really disliked Clarice.  She just didn’t do anything for me at all (aside from be irritating), plus I really liked Will Graham and would have preferred he stay as the ‘sidekick’ instead.


The characters seemed to be disconnected with each other all the time! I felt like every time the point of view changed from one character to another that they could be the same person, the only that differentiated it was things like setting or the gender. The only people who I was always hundred percent sure was Hannibal and Buffalo Bill, the tone and mannerisms for them were very distinctive, unlike everyone else. It was like they didn’t have their own individual personalities so I wasn’t able to connect with them.

What I did enjoy from this book was the serial killer himself, Buffalo Bill. He is a very interesting fellow that’s for certain. And, I really liked how the FBI was eventually able to catch him, that was so interesting and I am wondering if that could work in reality.
Hannibal’s escape was rather good too but completely predictable and I would have liked being, at least a little, surprised with it. You know that he’s got to get out at some point but I didn’t want to figure it out before it happened!

Perhaps the story didn’t give me enough to let my imagination run wild, or maybe it described things too clinically and matter-of-fact like, so it stunted any extras I could have added into it. I’m not completely certain either way but it made the book as dull and blunt as a spoon. I will eventually go on to read the third book but I that won’t be for a little while yet. I’ve got to have some exciting, mind-racing reads before I go with this series!

2 thoughts on “Book Review ~ “The Silence of the Lambs”

  1. I haven’t seen the movie yet so it could very well be that the book is better. But, that is generally the case with most books that are turned into movies, at least, for me anyway.

    That sucks that there isn’t much of Buffalo Bill in the movie, that’s the best part of the story!

    Like

Share a comment or thoughts ~

