Music Review ~ “Carly Rae Jepsen”

Artist: Carly Rae Jepsen
Albums: Tug of War (2008), Kiss (2012)
Genre: Pop, Dance
Years Active: 2007 – Present
Rating Out of Five: 4

Well this artist is something of a guilty pleasure. I bop around to her tunes early in the morning, especially when I am at work. My co-workers find my random 5AM grooving very entertaining.
I like the fun, “feel good” nature of her music. While I like most kinds of music this genre is definitely not my favourite nor my default but I definitely get into her music and the lyrics stay stuck in my head through out the day.

I do really like the tone of her voice, it isn’t shrill or squeaky, which does end up being the case with many pop singers. I think that I would enjoy her even more if I could hear her sing without all the dance beats and effects. It would be pretty cool if she did an album with a soul or jazz feel to it because I think that she has the pipes to do it. I’m certainly interested to see what she’ll do for anything else she eventually releases, whether she’ll stick with the style she has now or if she’ll branch out and try other styles.

Either way she is a lot of fun to listen to and her tunes will definitely get you bouncing around and/or busting a move!!!

Sour Candy” (Feat. Josh Ramsay from Marianas Trench) This song is from her first album “Tug of War

Good Time” (Feat. Carly Rae Jepsen) I love, love, love this song 🙂

Tonight I’m Getting Over You” Her newest music video from her album “Kiss

Share a comment or thoughts ~

