Book Review ~ “Shadow’s Edge”

Title: Shadow’s Edge
Author: Brent Weeks
Genre: Fantasy
Rating Out of Five: 5

Picks up where the first book in this trilogy leaves off.

Kylar has decided (mostly) to give up being a wetboy and start a normal, family life with Elene (Doll Girl) and Uly in a new town. But then comes news that Logan, his friend (and the rightful king), may still be alive and in hiding. Kylar has to make a choice between his new peaceful life and the life of an assassin. Will he take on the ultimate hit and slay the Godking to save his friend.

I enjoyed this second book even more than the first one. This has a fun amount of sarcastic humour in it between many of the characters. Seriously, who doesn’t enjoy a little witty banter with their violence right?! I certainly do! I found myself chuckling quite a bit throughout the book.

One of the things that I really like about this series up to this point (aside from all the stealthy awesome assassin-ness) is how dark the storyline is. I like some grittyness to my stories because it makes it real, more believable, and gets you really involved with the characters.

I, also, liked how two of the characters become irrevocably linked to each other towards the end of the book. It was a little twist that I wasn’t expecting that made me a little happy. I am curious to see how that will turn out in the next (and last) book in this series.

The surprise at the end of this book wasn’t actually that much of a surprise for me. As the story progressed I kind of figured it out about halfway through, which was a little disappointing because I don’t want to figure it out beforehand. It will be interesting so where it’ll go as the story continues.

Wonderful, wonderful book!!!

Share a comment or thoughts ~

