Book Review ~ “Katana”

Title: Katana
Author: Cole Gibsen
Genre: Teen
Rating out of Five: 3.5

The whole story is about a teenage girl, Rileigh Martin, that is a reincarnation of a female samurai warrior from 500 years ago. She is in denial for a while (and thinks she might be going crazy too) even though she can suddenly kick everybody’s arse with martial art skills she has never learned, can harness and manipulate her ki, and hears a voice giving her fighting advice when in danger.
She doesn’t want to give up the life she has now (what teenager would, I mean really right) to be taken over by someone she was in a past life.

I liked the book for the most part, it was a very fast read it only took me a few hours to get through it.

For most of the story I didn’t mind Rileigh, especially her sarcasm that was a lot of fun. Sometimes it seemed to me like she would get mad about things for no reason and I found that kind of irritating every now and then. Rileigh’s best friend, Quentin (Q for short), was one of my favourite things about this book for me. He was quite entertaining and I think that everyone would love a best friend like this dude.

I think I would like to see at least one more book after this one. Technically the story is done (stand alone) but I don’t feel that everything was resolved at the end, at least to my satisfaction.
Still overall it is a pretty decent story.

Share a comment or thoughts ~

