Book Review ~ “The Girl Who Played With Fire”

Title: The Girl Who Played With Fire
Author: Stieg Larsson
Genre: Fiction
Rating Out of Five: 4

I suppose it more or less picks up after the first book. Salander does some travelling, buys a house, and when she comes home, to Sweden, she has a chat with her “guardian” Bjurman (the $%&#ing swine), which sparks a deadly decision on his part. At the same time Blomkvist, at Millennium magazine, agrees to publish a book on a huge sex trafficking operation but before the work on that is published, the reporters are murdered and the implicated person is Lisbeth Salander. So begins the investigation not only by the police, but Blomkvist, who believes she is innocent from the start, and Salander’s own personal investigation as well. Slowly everything appears to be more than it seems and that everything, while on the surface, doesn’t seem to be connected, it not only is but is one of the biggest cover-ups undertaken by the government. Salander has to stay one step ahead of, not only, the police but the criminals to stay alive, as well as face everything from her dark past.

While it didn’t take me as long to read the second book as it did the first, it still did take me a while. Partly because I became distracted and started reading too many books at once and partly because it starts off kind of slow as well. Although it was interesting, it did take a while for things to really get moving along and for pieces to start falling together to make you go “ahhh I see how it is”. Once it hit that point, around just over halfway (again) I just didn’t want to put the book down. Again the book is kind of dark, not as much as the first one but still was to a degree. I definitely liked this book a lot more than the first and it ends on a cliff hanger! *ARGH*

My favourite thing about this series is still Lisbeth Salander, she is so awesome, I absolutely love strong, stubborn woman characters. She believes in solving her own problems and does so. I think I actually liked Blomkvist a little more in this story more because he was slightly more focal and you got to see his skills in work and how good he really was at his job. Plus, I loved his “I am right, I know I’m right and I’ll prove it to you” attitude. That was a win for me as well.

I got really annoyed with the character Faste, one of the police officers on the investigation, he was such a woman-hater and prejudiced jerk. I wanted to reach into the book and smack him upside the head! Thankfully you don’t have to read about him to terribly much.
Another new character in this book that I quite liked was the only female investigator on the team and that is Modig. She seems to me a very intelligent and quick-witted person and she goes where the facts lead her. I’m curious if she’ll be in the next book, I hope so.

Even though it was a slightly slow beginning the story was really good and now I need to go get the third book because I need to know what happens!

2 thoughts on “Book Review ~ “The Girl Who Played With Fire”

Share a comment or thoughts ~

