Book Review ~ “Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk”

Title: Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk
Author: David Sedaris
Genre: Humour
Rating Out of Five: 1

God awful! When this came out about a year ago I thought it would be a funny, interesting read. I know more than one person that has read some of his other titles and they were apparently quite humourous. This one…yah not so much…

It’s a compilation of little stories that seem to be kinda cutesy and comedic but they all have absolutely horrid endings. It was like the whole “moral to the story” was taken wwwaaayyy too far in my opinion. While this book is all small stories and even has illustrations, it is not for children at all.
I didn’t find it funny in the slightest, I just found it to be extremely morbid and just wanted it to be all over.

I personal don’t recommend this title at all. I’m sure there are others that find this kind of humour quite hilarious but I am definitely not one of them. I may give one of his other titles a shot at some point in the future but this one was a huge disappointment.

2 thoughts on “Book Review ~ “Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk”

  1. This review has me laughing! When you say it is not for children at all, I am thinking about our children’s librarian. She ordered for our juvenile section!!! I opened the book order and I think my jaw dropped to the ground! Needless to say, it was given to the adult non-fiction librarian!

    Like

    • Lol that is funny, good thing that was caught.
      I saw that Ian Falconer does the illustrations so it just added to “it’ll it be a cute, adorable read” feeling. Next time I’ll be flipping through the pages me thinks

      Like

Share a comment or thoughts ~

