Book Review ~ “Darkness Becomes Her”

Title: Darkness Becomes Her
Author: Kelly Keaton
Genre: Teen
Rating Out of Five: 5

This is the first book in a new teen series, and I love it, started it this morning and finished it this afternoon! When I read the back it originally it seriously sparked my curiosity, which says a lot as the last few teen books I have read haven’t been the greatest. I am rather tired of vampires, werewolves and zombies, I wanted something really different and this series seems to be just the thing.
Its got a mixture of normality, supernatural and greek mythology. The main character, Ari, is my kind of girl. She can fight, handle a weapon and sticks up for herself and others.

The story takes place in New 2, which is the “new” New OrlĂ©ans. It’s a place of sanctuary for people who are different, not only in physical looks, but also in terms of special abilities. It’s run by The Novem, which is made up of 9 family heads. There are 3 descendants of gods, 3 of witches, and 3 of vampires. The best part of the story is that she, Ari, is none of those things. You’ll have to read it to find what she is exactly as I so don’t want to ruin the story with that spoiler.

It’s so good! The second book comes out next month and already so stoked to read it.

2 thoughts on “Book Review ~ “Darkness Becomes Her”

  1. Oh good! I am getting a book order ready for my young adults and this will go onto the order tomorrow!
    If you are ever in the mood for a bit of good historical fiction, The Winter Palace by Eva Stachniak is excellent. I read it this past weekend in about 6 hours. It is a novel about Catherine the Great.

    Like

Share a comment or thoughts ~

