Book Review ~ “The Stepsister Scheme”

Title: The Stepsister Scheme
Author: Jim C. Hines
Genre: Fantasy
Rating Out of Five: 2

So much potential for this take on the fairy tales but this is only the first book in a series of four. So I am trying to refrain from a full decision on the series until I finish all the books, really hoping that it gets better as it goes on. I am also not the biggest fan of fantasy series. I am very, very picky when it comes to this genre of books so that may be a contributing factor to my small dislike for it.

It took me a very long time to get through this book but I didn’t completely dislike it. I found the characters were so predictable, with everything they did and said to each other and even some of the scenarios. I don’t like figuring things out before the characters do because then you aren’t really invested in them (the character[s]) to begin with so whats the point right. There was some stuff that I would have liked to have had described better or some things (or setting in some cases) that wasn’t really described at all.
I really liked the character of Sleeping Beauty, Talia, in the story. She is pretty wicked; super tough, tomboy, sarcastic, and got some mad fighting skills. So far she is my favourite part of and saving grace for this series.

Here’s looking to a (hopefully) better second book.

5 thoughts on “Book Review ~ “The Stepsister Scheme”

Share a comment or thoughts ~

