Book Review~ “Summer, Fireworks and My Corpse”

Title: Summer, Fireworks and My Corpse
Author: Otsuichi
Genre: Horror/Fiction
Rating: Four

This title actually has two small short stories before the larger novel. The first short story (Cover Title) was probably my favourite one of the three cause you really don’t expect the ending that, that this one has. It was very cool the way you really had no idea what the outcome was going to be like. Plus, I like that his endings aren’t typical “happy” endings, very refreshing. The second short story, titled “Yuko”, was interesting and left me a little confused throughout until I finished it. It was also fairly creepy, don’t read if you really don’t like dolls.
Finally, the main novel, title “Black Fairy Tale”, was very neat, extremely graphic though. If you don’t like gore, then it’s prolly not a good idea to read this cause it was gross and I couldn’t even eat a snack as I read this story. This one has several different points of view, from different characters, that help tell the story and there is kind of a story within a story. The idea of the it all was really cool and you really had no idea who the bad guy was until the very end of it. I really like that when I am reading a book, being predictable or making it too easy to figure out is super boring.
I certainly recommend this small collection, but be prepared for much gut-removing, and chopping of limbs if you decide to read it.

Share a comment or thoughts ~

